Code Authors: Forums


View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message
mrix
Newbie
Newbie



Joined: Apr 17, 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 2:35 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Hi all, I have installed this module and am getting a fair few members explaining they are getting a page come up asking fpr payment to be removed from a database!
I had this post from one member...

Quote:
hi
everytime i try to come in here through a reply to a message post via my email address i get this page coming up from these people..
anyone any ideas on why that is..???
plus its asking me to pay for them to remove my id from their database!!
Sue



This seems spam in its self and unfortunately I will have to remove the module.
cheers
mrix

_________________
[url=http://www.online-gaming-forums.com]Multiplayer Gaming[/url]
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Guardian
Site Admin
Site Admin



Joined: Jan 06, 2006
Posts: 3779
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 6:06 pm Reply with quote Back to top

With respect, perhaps you should read the 'how it works' post?
I'll not waste my time explaining everything if you are removing it as I'm a little busy ATM but the reason users are redirected to my site is to save you bandwidth from spammers. You can quite easily modify the script not to do that, it is commented within the file and I can give you specifics if you need them.

In most situations, the user first gets an error message and asks them to click a link to continue - this is to identify humans as against bots and the script will then automatically give them access and add them to the whitelist.
If they do not click the link, the script interprets that as the user being a bot and bans them automatically.

If you have the users IP address I can easily identify which blacklist they are on - Spam Stopper uses three blacklists by default and these can be changed or removed in the config file. Again, I can give you specifics if you need them.

Sorry it took so long to reply, my net connection has been playing up all day.

_________________
Nuke Reviews
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Guardian
Site Admin
Site Admin



Joined: Jan 06, 2006
Posts: 3779
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:02 pm Reply with quote Back to top

It has a long time since I reviewed the code for this module due to working on other projects but just to clarify;
Spam Stopper itself is not causing the redirect to this site it is the htaccess writing routine so there must be partial match in the url they are using from the emailed topic reply notification that is causing the htaccess redirect.
In admin/CA_DB_List.php in line 50
Code:

$handle_method = "REDIRECT"; //This can be "DENY" or "REDIRECT"
simply change REDIRECT to DENY.

However it might be better if you can give me an example url they are using to see if there is anything in that I can identify as as being the trigger.

_________________
Nuke Reviews
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mrix
Newbie
Newbie



Joined: Apr 17, 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:10 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Quote:
I'll not waste my time explaining everything if you are removing it as I'm a little busy ATM but the reason users are redirected to my site is to save you bandwidth from spammers. You can quite easily modify the script not to do that, it is commented within the file and I can give you specifics if you need them.


By default this should not be the case in my mind as many people using the script for the first time could get this message etc. many people get a module install it and run it on default settings.
I had at least 3 members contact me and its likely many more had the problem also.

By default many people who try this script will run into the same situation as me. And to get members stating they need to pay £20 to get removed from a database didnt make me look good.
Its only my personal opinion and think yes its probably a great script if set up correctly.
mrix

_________________
[url=http://www.online-gaming-forums.com]Multiplayer Gaming[/url]
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Guardian
Site Admin
Site Admin



Joined: Jan 06, 2006
Posts: 3779
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 6:48 am Reply with quote Back to top

Although that page is only supposed to be seen by genuine spammers, I do see your point.
I'll remove that immediately.

_________________
Nuke Reviews
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mrix
Newbie
Newbie



Joined: Apr 17, 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 8:58 am Reply with quote Back to top

Hello again, I was wondering if this module got updated ?
Its clearly a very useful system and would like to try it again.
thanks
mrix

_________________
[url=http://www.online-gaming-forums.com]Multiplayer Gaming[/url]
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Guardian
Site Admin
Site Admin



Joined: Jan 06, 2006
Posts: 3779
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 8:11 pm Reply with quote Back to top

To be honest, I have been trying to get around to updating it for over a year.
I do have another version which I'm using on this site but I have not released it to the public as there is a lot more functionality I want to build into it.
The version used here does not use any white/blacklist files, it writes them to the database and also has the option to add domains/IP's and referers to Nuke Sentinel as well as Spam Stoppers own tables.
Technology has changed so much in the last year and I'm keen to also get Spam Stopper to write out an XML file so if for example, you run more than one nuke site, they can share data between them.

I have no idea when I'll eventually get back to it though but I do hope it is sooner rather than later.

_________________
Nuke Reviews
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mrix
Newbie
Newbie



Joined: Apr 17, 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:18 am Reply with quote Back to top

403 Forbidden

Your client IP (89.243.177.1) is listed as an open proxy or abusive host at the following services:

localkeywordblock
localmysql
Users of open proxies are unwanted on this site because of potential for various types of SPAM.
IP address denied and thus the page is exiting

This site is protected against open proxies and abusive hosts by Spam Stopper and the Spamlist Database.

What is this error ?, I have been blocked many others I expect have been also?

and its not good i have been added to a spam data list

mrix

_________________
[url=http://www.online-gaming-forums.com]Multiplayer Gaming[/url]
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Guardian
Site Admin
Site Admin



Joined: Jan 06, 2006
Posts: 3779
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 11:50 am Reply with quote Back to top

It isn't an 'error', that message is generated because your IP is listed as an open proxy in pre-existing blacklists.
I should add that this message does not mean you have been added to a blacklist, merely that your IP is ALREADY listed by one or more third party blacklists.

However, it is curious that if you have been using Spam Stopper for a few days or so and this is the first time 'you' have been blocked.
You may wish to review the blacklist file for words which might appear in your internal links as this would also cause this message.
It does indicate 'localkeywordblock' which normally means a blacklisted word was used in an internal url or referred url.
Do you have a gallery installed? - this is one of the blacklisted words.

_________________
Nuke Reviews
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2008 phpBB Group
All times are GMT
Forums ©
Masters Degrees Online | Secured Loans | Loan | Celeb Gossip | Advertising

Scripts.com - Get the best scripts NOW!
linear-bunchlinear-bunch